Restricted Drivers automatically turn off

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Sushimatt

Restricted Drivers automatically turn off

Post by Sushimatt »

Hi there...

I am a real newbie in what linux is about, i have installed ubuntu before and now i got a mint elyssa distro installed.
Now, i could install it finally with working wifi capabilities by using madwifi and the restricted drivers HAL.

the problem is that every time my linux boots, i find myself without the wifi again because both the HAL and the Atheros support on restricted drivers turn into "not currently in use" so I have to unclick and deactivate them, and reactivate them again, so that linux can start finding the wireless connections.

any idea? how can i fix this? is there a possiblity to change it and make it read only?
cheers, Matt

p.s. sorry about the ignorance.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Restricted Drivers automatically turn off

Post by 67GTA »

The drivers loaded by the driver manager might not work with your card.(sometimes it has to guess) Post the output of

Code: Select all

lspci
from a terminal.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Restricted Drivers automatically turn off

Post by 67GTA »